She’s So Good

We volunteer at our church’s Clothes Closet each month. It’s a great mission the women have started. In 1998 they took the tiny old part of our church and turned it into small clothing store. Expect you don’t pay for anything. People can come once a month and get free clothes, housewares, shoes, etc. It’s been really nice getting to know some of the people who come every month.

The big boys take Matthew to the nursery and watch him so I can work. Carlee stays with me. She used to sit in her stroller then in her car seat. Today, I had the bright idea to take her high chair. She was secure and up high so she could see everyone. She was having a great time. She was laughing at people (and trying to eat their strings). She was making eye contact. I kept getting the same comment over and over. “She’s so good.”

One particular lady said it quite a few times. She rubbed her head and said how pretty she was. And then she said “That’s good parenting right there, for her to sit there so quietly and well behaved.” I smiled and said “thank you.” My heart tore open! Her sitting there silently has absolutely nothing to do with my parenting skills. She can’t talk. She doesn’t talk. She does sit there quietly. She seems well behaved. I know this woman meant no harm, she didn’t know. But, I wish I could get my 3 year old to tell me “no” “I don’t want to” or anything else of a defiant nature. Anything at all.

She is a sweet girl. I know I am blessed by her good nature. I know some children who could never sit there for two hours and be happy about it. I’m very thankful she’s a content child. I don’t mean to sound ungrateful. But I wish for words instead of silence.

One thought on “She’s So Good

Leave a Reply

