‘Tis But A Season

To everything there is a season. This season is interesting. Our home is full of special needs equipment. Things I never thought I’d have in my home. A seven foot tall crib. A medical pole with tubing. A very large walker. Arms guards, helmets, finger guards, button covers, chewy tubes, and feeding tubes. It’s all such a part of our lives now, it doesn’t even seem weird. My thighs are consistently bruised because Carlee rams her walker into me. I can pour liquid and put in a new tubie with my eyes closed. It’s amazing that it’s all just become second nature to us.

Within this season there are changes. Because of Carlee’s needs and immune system, I’ve been staying home from church. I don’t mind missing a Sunday every now and then, but for now, I’m staying home with her. Her immune system is down. A simple sniffle in another child could turn into a horrible sinus infection for her. Any sickness could activate her virus and do further damage to her brain. So for this season, until her immune system is hiked back up, I’ll be home.

I have sermons playing on Sunday mornings. I’m still learning. I miss the family of church. I miss singing. However, I’m happy to stay here and keep her healthy. I have a home group on Monday nights. I have Ladies Bible Study on Tuesday nights. I still have my community. And after all, this is just for a season.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

